TeamBoard TimePlanner

General settings

🔐

Only users with the App Admin role can access and manage General Settings in TimePlanner.

The General Settings section allows administrators to manage foundational preferences that affect the overall functionality of the TimePlanner app.

To access General Settings, from the left-hand menu, navigate to ⚙️ Settings > General.

CleanShot 2026-08-18 at 14.06.23@2x-20260818-070635.png

Here’s an overview of the options available:

General Settings

How it works













1. Approval







1.1 Allow users to change the Default Approver

Allows all users to modify their default approver for timesheets and leave requests in their Personal Settings.

  • ON: Users can change their default approver.

  • OFF: Users cannot change their default approver.

CleanShot 2026-08-18 at 14.08.19@2x-20260818-070957.png


1.2 Allow users to assign themselves as APPROVERs

Allows Approvers to approve their own timesheets and leave requests.

  • ON: Users can assign themselves as approver for their own timesheets or leave requests in their Personal Settings.

  • OFF: Users cannot assign themselves as approver for their own timesheets or leave requests in their Personal Settings.

Note: Only applies to users with timesheet or vacation approval permissions ( Approvers )











2. Capacity & Scheduling

2.1 Allow users to change their working capacity

Enables all users to adjust their working hours or capacity in their Personal Settings.

  • ON: Users can change their working capacity.

  • OFF: Users cannot change their working capacity.

CleanShot 2026-08-18 at 14.11.14@2x.png

2.2 Allow users to change their holiday calendar

Allows all users to select preferred holiday schemes in their Personal Settings.

  • ON: Users can select and update their holiday calendar.

  • OFF: Users must follow the default holiday calendar.

CleanShot 2026-08-18 at 14.13.27@2x.png

2.3 Prevent planning tasks on holidays

  • ON: Tasks scheduled on holidays are not counted in the schedule.

  • OFF: Tasks scheduled on holidays will be included in the schedule.

2.4 Prevent logging time on non-working days

  • ON: Tasks scheduled on non-working days (including holidays or leaves) are not counted in the schedule.

  • OFF: Tasks scheduled on non-working days (including holidays or leaves) will be included in the schedule.

2.5 Allow Events in Schedules

When enabled, this option includes your events in the workload calculations.











3. Timesheet & Billing

3.1 Allow users to mark tasks as Billable

Allows all users to mark a task as Billable, activating cost tracking based on the task’s working hours.

  • ON: Users can mark a task as Billable, and the cost is calculated.

  • OFF: Users can mark a task as Billable, and the cost is calculated.

3.2 Automatically enable the billable option

Make all newly created tasks billable by default.

  • ON: New tasks are automatically marked as billable when they are created. Users can still change the billable status manually if they have permission.

  • OFF: New tasks are not marked as billable by default. Users need to enable the billable option manually when needed, if allowed.

3.3 Calculate overtime and undertime per day

This feature calculates undertime by comparing the number of hours a user logs each day against their daily capacity.

Example: User A has a daily capacity of 8 hours and logs the following:

  • Day 1: 8h logged

  • Day 2: 6h logged (2h undertime)

  • Day 3: 4h logged (4h undertime)

Total undertime (h) = Total capacity - Total logged time = 6 (h)

  • ON: Undertime calculation is enabled in Reports and Dashboards.

  • OFF: Undertime calculation is not applied in Reports and Dashboards.






4. Jira Integration & Synchronization

4.1 Sync with Jira worklogs

By default, the app automatically syncs Jira worklogs for seamless time tracking and accurate reporting. If users want to sync worklogs from before they installed TimePlanner, they can do so manually.

To sync previous data:

  1. Click the CleanShot 2026-08-18 at 14.42.41@2x.png button.

  2. Select the desired time range.

  3. Choose the users for which to sync data.

  4. The app will then sync the selected historical worklogs.

4.2 Sync with Jira estimation fields

When this setting is enabled, the schedule will automatically sync with the Original Estimate and Time Remaining fields in Jira.

4.3 Plan with Original Estimation field

mapping project

When enabled (and Date Mapping is active), task hours per day will be calculated by dividing the Original Estimate by the task's duration. Changing the start or end date will not affect the Original Estimate value.

Example:

  • User A is assigned Task 01:

    • Original Estimate: 10 hours

    • Start Date: 19th February

    • End Date: 20th February

In this case, the task hours per day will be 5 hours/day (10 hours ÷ 2 days).

  • ON: Task hours are calculated based on the Original Estimate, and the start/end dates don’t affect the estimate.

  • OFF: Task hours are not automatically calculated by the Original Estimate.

5. Time Logging

Maximum hours per day per user

CleanShot 2026-08-18 at 14.41.56@2x-20260818-074156.png

The Maximum hours per day per user setting allows administrators to limit how many hours a user can log within 24 hours.

How it works

  • Select a value from the dropdown to define the maximum number of hours a user can log per day.

  • When the limit is reached, users will not be able to log additional time for that day.

  • If Unlimited is selected, users can log any amount of time without restriction.